Skip navigation

The Mutt-i-gree Curriculum Program

Grades 7 & 8 Kit

Order Now: Grades 7 & 8 Kit

Kit Contents

  • Scripted lesson plans
  • Discussion prompts
  • Hands-on activities
  • Opportunities for creative expression
  • Vocabulary & key words
  • Recommended readings & resources
  • Service learning activities
  • Family & community involvement activities
  • Letters to engage families
  • Templates & worksheets
  • Booster lessons
  • Mutt-i-grees Club Activities
  • Snapshots of humane issues
  • Dog Dialog feature lessons
  • Posters



Themes & Core Concepts

The Mutt-i-grees Curriculum for Grades 7 & 8 is organized around five units, each representing a theme and reflecting a key principle in social and emotional learning: Achieving Awareness, Finding Feelings, Encouraging Empathy, Cultivating Cooperation, and Dealing with Decisions. The themes are intentionally sequenced and each theme consists of four core lessons and three booster lessons, beginning with basic concepts (such as identifying one’s own feelings) and progressing to more complex ones (such as taking another’s perspective). By design, concepts are reinforced across themes and incorporate both repetition and expansion.




Lessons are taught once a week and take approximately 30 minutes. Discussions and core concepts can extend beyond the lessons and are easily integrated into other parts of the school day. Live animals are not necessary for successful implementation.

Dog Dialog feature lessons, which are designed to teach students about dog behavior so they can better interact with and care for dogs, provide opportunities for further discussion.